Engineering Educators Bringing the World Together

### 2025 ASEE Annual Conference & Exposition

# AWARDS Program

June 22–25, 2025 Palais des congrès de Montréal Montreal, QC









**GRAND VALLEY STATE UNIVERSITY®** 



TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY Engineering



College of Engineering UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA elcome to the 2025 ASEE Awards Lunch! Each year, the Society recognizes the outstanding achievements of engineering and engineering technology educators via the ASEE Awards program. With their commitment to their profession, desire to further the Society's mission, and participation in civic and community affairs, ASEE award winners exemplify the best in engineering and engineering technology education.

This year's honorees have served ASEE as Board members or campus representatives; presented papers chosen by their peers as top in their field; and made significant impacts through industry collaboration, curriculum leadership, classroom performance, and much more. In addition, we recognize those ASEE members who, due to their extraordinary qualifications and experience, have been chosen as this year's class of ASEE Fellows.

On behalf of ASEE, we salute you. Cheers!

Grant Crawford ASEE President 2024–2025

### **2025 ASEE Board of Directors** Outgoing Board Members



**P.J. Boardman** Chair, Corporate Member Council

#### Elliot P. Douglas Chair, Professional Interest Council I





**Clay S. Gloster, Jr.** Chair, Professional Interest Council V

#### Martin Gordon Vice President, External Relations





#### Kaitlin Mallouk Chair, Professional Interest Council IV; First Vice President

#### **Teri Reed** Vice President, Finance; Finance Committee Chair





#### **Douglas Tougaw** Immediate Past President

### 2025 ASEE Outstanding Zone Campus Representatives



Zone I Courtney D. Giles University of Vermont

Zone II Kumar Yelamarthi Tennessee Tech University





Zone III Tracy A. Hammond Texas A&M University

Zone IV Brock J. LaMeres Montana State University



### 2024 ASEE Annual Conference Best Paper Awards

#### **PIC I**

#### To Record or Not to Record? Collaborating through Conflict

By Emily Risë Crum, *Columbia University*; Kristin Leigh Bennett, Stuart Adler, David S. Bergsman, Nicole Minkoff, Alexis N. Prybutok, *University of Washington* 

#### PIC II

#### Equitable Engineering Identity? Race/Ethnicity and Gender Differences in the Predictors of Engineering Identity in First-Year Engineering

By Matthew Bahnson, *Purdue University*; Eric Trevor McChesney, *University of Pittsburgh*; Carlie Laton Cooper, *University of Georgia*; Allison Godwin, *Cornell University*; Linda DeAngelo, *University of Pittsburgh*; Kevin R. Binning

#### PIC III

#### Navigating the Mystery: An Approach for Integrating Experiential Learning in Ethics into an Engineering Leadership Program

By James N. Magarian, John M. Feiler, Leo McGonagle, Eileen Milligan, Alexander Rokosz, Elizabeth Schanne, Reza S. Rahaman, Olivier Ladislas de Weck, *Massachusetts Institute of Technology* 

### 2024 ASEE Annual Conference Best Paper Awards

#### **PIC IV**

#### Near-Peer Mentors' Discussions with a Student Avatar Experiencing Logistical Issues on a First-Year Design Team

By Pamela S. Lottero-Perdue, *Towson University*; Haritha Malladi, Marcia Gail Headley, *University of Delaware* 

#### **PIC V**

#### The Wooden Bike Frame Challenge: Learning Statics Through Hands-On Design

By Jenni Buckley, *University of Delaware*; Amy Trauth, *American Institutes for Research*; Alexander John De Rosa, Heather Doty, *University of Delaware* 

#### The Best Zone I Paper Reflection in Engineering Design: Student Perceptions on Usefulness

By Libby (Elizabeth) Osgood, Christopher Power, University of Prince Edward Island

#### The Best Zone II Paper

#### Development of a 3-Credit Multidisciplinary University Autonomous Vehicles Course Without Prerequisites and Open to Any Engineering Major

By Nicholas E. Brown, Johan Fanas Rojas, Alyssa Moon, Ali Atallah E Alhawiti, Pritesh Patil, Parth Kadav, Kira Hamelink, Wendy R. Swalla, Zachary D. Asher, *Western Michigan University* 

#### The Best Zone III Paper

#### Energy Literacy Infrastructure Study across Nebraska and Data-Driven Design of Energy-focused STEM Education and Virtual Outreach Activities for K-12 Students and Teachers

By Sourav Sutradhar, Oghenetega Allen Obewhere, Karen Acurio-Cerda, Moses Dike, Rajesh Keloth, Shudipto Konika Dishari, *University of Nebraska-Lincoln* 

#### The Best Zone IV Paper Engineering Problem Solving: Implementing a New Foundational Engineering Course

By Timothy Frank, Daphne DePorres, Emily Stoneham, Joel Sloan, Vincent Bongioanni, Eric Tucker, *United States Air Force Academy* 

### **Best Overall Papers**

#### The 2024 Best Overall PIC Paper Near-Peer Mentors' Discussions with a Student Avatar Experiencing Logistical Issues on a First-Year Design Team

By Pamela S. Lottero-Perdue, *Towson University*; Haritha Malladi, Marcia Gail Headley, *University of Delaware* 

#### The 2024 Best Overall Zone Paper

Energy Literacy Infrastructure Study across Nebraska and Data-Driven Design of Energy-focused STEM Education and Virtual Outreach Activities for K-12 Students and Teachers

By Sourav Sutradhar, Oghenetega Allen Obewhere, Karen Acurio-Cerda, Moses Dike, Rajesh Keloth, Shudipto Konika Dishari, *University of Nebraska-Lincoln* 

Best Overall Commission on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Paper

Leveraging the CARE Methodology to Enhance Pedagogical and Institutional Support for Blind or Low-Vision (BLV) Learners in Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE)

By Aya Mouallem, Trisha Kulkarni, and Sheri Sheppard, *Stanford University* 

### **ASEE National & Society Awards**



#### Clement J. Freund Award Paul D. Plotkowski Grand Valley State University

#### Frederick J. Berger Award Ismail Fidan Tennessee Tech University





James H. McGraw Award Rachel D. Mosier Oklahoma State University

Jeffrey Ray Memorial Award Annalisa Scacchioli Rutgers University



# **ASEE National & Society Awards**



John L. Imhoff Global Excellence Award for Industrial Engineering Education Amin Esmaeili

Kennesaw State University

#### **National Outstanding Teaching Award**

2024 Diane L. Peters Kettering University





2025 Brock J. LaMeres Montana State University

Ralph Coats Roe Award Arun R. Srinivasa Texas A&M University





#### Robert G. Quinn Award Yiannis A. Levendis Northeastern University

#### Sharon Keillor Award for Women in Engineering Education Roxanne Moore Georgia Institute of Technology



2025 ASEE Fellow Member Honorees

Audeen Fentiman Purdue University

Martin Gordon Rochester Institute of Technology

James Huff University of Georgia

Michael Johnson Texas A&M University

Joyce Main Purdue University

**Carol Muller** Stanford University

Lulu Sun Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

**Janis Terpenny** George Mason University



# SCAN to see full list of ASEE Awards Winners

### ASEE would like to thank the ASEE PIC Chairs & Annual Conference Program Chairs for their support and cooperation



1818 N Street N.W. Suite 315, Washington DC 20036 Telephone: 202.949.6726